Sunday, August 22, 2010

Saints Scouts Hall of Fame Induction

Tampa Bay Scout Ken Stauffer was inducted into the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame at the Saints.

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Bob Miske Induction - July 10th

We had a tremendous time Saturday night inducting Bob Miske into the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame. The Renegades staff did a great job, and we had a lot of fun!

Friday, July 9, 2010

Bob Miske- July 10th Induction

Bob Miske will be inducted tomorrow into our Hudson Valley Renegades Scouts Hall of Fame at 6:15pm.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Giving new meaning to 'scout's honor- Written By Ben Hill

PBSHOF gives credit to those who identify baseball talent

Professional scouts are baseball nomads, solitary individuals who traverse their territory in constant pursuit of players with potential.

It's a life characterized by seemingly endless processions of amateur ball fields and generic hotel rooms, and anonymity in the world at large is virtually guaranteed. Those who embrace such a profession certainly don't do it for the recognition.

But recognition is what these men are finally getting, thanks to the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame (PBSHOF). This unprecedented shrine to scouting was established in 2008 by the Goldklang Group, which operates three Minor League ballclubs -- the Charleston RiverDogs, Fort Myers Miracle, Hudson Valley Renegades -- and the independent league St. Paul Saints. The PBSHOF exists at all four of these team's facilities, with new members inducted each season. Criteria include a minimum of 20 years experience, with selection also based on "quantifiable success in the field, contributions made to the game in other areas ... and involvement to the local community that is honoring them through induction."

Twenty-eight scouts are members of the PBSHOF, including the five who have been (or will be) inducted this season. This year's honorees include Terry Ryan and Dave Yoakum (Fort Myers, March 30), Jax Robertson (Charleston, April 30), Bob Miske (Hudson Valley, July 10), and Ken Stauffer (St. Paul, August 12).

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Charleston Scout Induction

Last night we inducted Pirates Scout Jax Robertson into our Scouts Hall of Fame at the Charleston RiverDogs. We presented Robertson with a letter from Pirates GM Neal Huntington. Our next induction will be held at the Hudson Valley Renegades.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

Dave Yoakum and Terry Ryan Induction

White Sox Dave Yoakum and Minnesota Twins Terry Ryan have officially been inducted into the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame on Tuesday March 30th at Fort Myers Miracle. It was a great day for scouts and their family and friends were wonderful! Next induction is April 30th at Charleston RiverDogs.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Joe Rigoli Featured in St. Louis Globe-Democrat

Minor League Notebook: Scout receives Hall of Fame honor

Professional scout Joe Rigoli was awarded his profession’s highest honor

Joe Rigoli is undoubtedly the least well-known St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Famer representing an equally-anonymous profession - scouting.

Despite being universally accepted as an absolutely essential component of every major league organization, scouts have consistently lacked external recognition. One minor league group set out to change that, and in the process, Rigoli, a St. Louis Cardinals scouting legend, officially joined the best in his field.

The Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame inducted Rigoli into their ranks in June. The ceremony, which also recognized Joe McIlvaine, the former general manager of the San Diego Padres and New York Mets, was held at Dutchess Stadium in Wappingers Falls, N.Y.

The Scouts Hall of Fame was conceived three years ago by The Goldklang Group, operators of four minor league franchises. The Group addressed an unmet need, as The National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. recognizes players, coaches, executives, umpires, writers and broadcasters, but not scouts.

Cardinals Vice President of Scouting and Player Development Jeff Luhnow is a firm believer of the benefits of scouting to his employer and to the game as a whole.

“Scouting is truly the lifeblood of any organization,” Luhnow explained. “It is both an art and a science and it takes years of experience and dedication for someone to become a great scout. We ask our scouts to use their best judgment to not only analyze and interpret what they see in a player, but to predict the future. This is not easy, but if done correctly can be very valuable to any baseball club.”


Monday, February 22, 2010

March 30th- Fort Myers Miracle

Our first induction will be at our Fort Myers Miracle team. White Sox Dave Yoakum and Twins Terry Ryan will be honored that night. Look forward to seeing many of you there....

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

2010 Inductions


Florham Park, NJ/New York, February 10, 2010 – Five veteran baseball scouts have been named as the 2010 inductees to the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame (PBSHOF). This marks the third year of honorees, with the selections announced by The Goldklang Group.

With players, executives, umpires, writers and broadcasters honored annually in Cooperstown at the National Baseball Hall of Fame, this is a unique honor given to those who exist at the very foundation of player development for the Major Leagues. The inductees are commemorated with bronze plaques on display at the four minor league clubs operated by the Goldklang Group (Charleston RiverDogs, Ft. Myers Miracle, Hudson Valley Renegades, and St. Paul Saints).

We are very pleased to announce this year’s honorees, as follows: Honored at Charleston will be Jax Robertson (Pittsburgh Pirates). Honored at Fort Myers will be Terry Ryan (Minnesota) and Dave Yoakum (Chicago White Sox). Honored at Hudson Valley will be Bob Miske (New York Yankees). Honored at St. Paul will be Ken Stauffer (Tampa Bay).

Their formal inductions will take place on four separate dates. The 2010 inductions will kick off in Fort Myers on March 30th, Charleston RiverDogs to follow April 30th, Hudson Valley Renegades July 10th and St. Paul Saints August 12th.

“The ability to grow this program remains an honor and a tremendous privilege,” said Tyler Tumminia, Vice President, Goldklang Group. “After two years we have achieved our aggressive goal of creating a stand alone and broadly recognized shrine acknowledging the best scouts in the industry. The response and feedback we have received within the sport is humbling, and we are proud to continue carrying the torch.”

Last year’s inductees were Tom Greenwade (New York Yankees), Marti Wolever (Philadelphia), Joe McIlvaine (Minnesota), Joe Rigoli (St. Louis), Rene Mons (Milwaukee), Roland Johnson (New York Mets), Al Goldis (long time scout), John Barr (San Francisco), Bob Fontaine (Toronto), Gary Hughes (Chicago Cubs), Tom Burns (Toronto) and Howard McCullough (Arizona).